Nov 12


Arteixo covers an area of 93.4 km² with thirteen parishes: Armentón, Arteixo, Barrañán, Chamín, Lañas, Larín, Loureda, Monteagudo, Morás, Oseiro, Pastoriza, Sorrizo and Suevos.

Up until the seventies the borough of Arteixo was decidedly rural. However, the construction of Sabón Industrial Estate brought about a transcendental demographic change.

There are 31,000 inhabitants, mainly living in Arteixo, Vilarrodís, Pastoriza and Meicende.

Thanks to the dynamism and work opportunities offered by the important business network in Sabón Industrial Estate, the number of young people has increased dramatically. In the future, this industrial network will grow with the addition of Morás Industrial Estate and Punta Langostiera Open Sea Harbour

Formerly known as A Baiuca, Arteixo town is the capital of the borough. It is part of A Coruña's judicial body, and due to its economic and functional relations it ties in with the group of municipalities which includes the boroughs of Sada, Alfareros, Abegondo, Bergondo, Culleredo, Carral and Cambre. It is 11km from A Coruña.

To the north-east it borders with the borough of A Coruña, to the  east with Culleredo, and to the south and south-east with the borough of Laracha.

The Atlantic Ocean lies to the north.

E-mail Print PDF
facebookFeed RSS de ArteixoAtlánticoArteixoAtlántico en YoutubeArteixoAtlántico en Google ProfilesArteixoAtlántico en Picasa
i n f o

(C) 2014 Arteixo Council |